1. Home
  2. Getting Started
  3. Creating A Course

Creating A Course

Creating great courses for your students is the #1 thing you’ll do when you use Trek, and we’ve made it as easy as possible to create, organize, and edit yours.

Below is a walk-through of the steps to get a new course up and running.

Creating A New Course

To create a new course, go to your dashboard and click the “New course” button at the top of the Courses Pane.


If you haven’t created any courses yet, you’ll see a large, green button prompting you to create your first course.

You can also create a new course from the All Courses Page.

You’ll be prompted to give your course a name before working on it. Don’t get stuck on the name; you can change it before publishing your course.


Building Your Course

Once you’ve given your course a name, you’ll be directed to the Course Builder. This is where you’ll create the structure of your course.


Creating Chapters and Lessons

Think of organizing your course the way you would organize a book. Every course consists of chapters and lessons. Chapters are just containers for your lessons. Lessons contain the content you want to teach.

To create a chapter, click the plus icon create-course-plus-icon at the top right of the screen, and give it a name.

To create a lesson, click the “add a new lesson” link at the top of the chapter you want to create the lesson in.

Creating a course without chapters

To create a course without chapters, just put all your lessons in one chapter. Your students will not see the containing chapter or its name—just the lessons within it.

Deleting Chapters and Lessons

To delete a lesson, click the “x” icon at the right side of the lesson. This is permanent and cannot be undone, so be sure you’re deleting the right lesson!

To delete a chapter, click the gear icon create-course-gear-icon for that chapter, and choose “Delete.” This is permanent and cannot be undone, so be sure you’re deleting the right chapter!

When deleting a chapter, you will also be deleting all the lessons contained in that chapter. If you don’t want a lesson to be deleted, drag it to another chapter before deleting.

Adjusting Your Course Settings

When you’re done building your course, you’ll want to adjust a few settings for it. You can tweak your course’s settings on the Course Settings Pane, which you’ll open by clicking the wrench icon create-course-wrench-button at the top right of the Course Builder.

These are the default settings you can adjust:

Title: Change the name of your course and how it displays to your students.

Banner image: Upload a horizontal image that will display on the course’s widget on your school’s home page.



Logo: Upload a course logo that will display at the top left of every page of your course for your students.


Course discussion: This setting controls whether your students can leave comments on lessons. It applies course-wide.

Brief description: Write a 1-2 sentence intro to your course that will display on the course’s widget on your school’s home page.

Additional settings

Certain addons (like Stripe or Dripping) that add functionality to your courses will add additional settings options to the Course Settings Pane. Learn more about Addons.

Publishing Your Course

When your course is finished, there are a few actions to complete to put it on offer to your students. You can access these actions by clicking on the Course Actions Menu create-course-actions-icon at the top right of the Course Builder.

These are the actions you can take:

Publish: When your course is finished and you’re ready for students to register, you can publish it to make live on the web. Your course will appear on your school’s homepage.

Unpublish: This option will appear if the course is published. It will remove the course from your school’s homepage and will no longer be accessible to students.

Write an intro: Your course intro will appear before any lessons in your course and your students will see it every time they log in to work on the course.

Build a sales page: When a prospective student clicks a course widget on your homepage to learn more, they’ll be taken to your course’s sales page. This is where you can share more about the course to entice them to enroll.

We refer to the landing page your future students see as the “sales page” even if your course is free. You’ll want to complete this even if you’re not planning to charge for your course.

Preview course: Click this link to see a live preview of your course as your students will see it and make sure that everything looks the way you want it to.

Delete course: Deleting your course is permanent and cannot be undone. Make sure you’re really ready to delete! If you aren’t sure, consider unpublishing the course instead of deleting.

Additional settings

Certain addons (like Mailchimp) that add functionality to your courses will add additional options to the Course Actions Menu. Learn more about Addons.

Updated on April 19, 2016

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles